Current Topic...

HBOK 1-437

Title Climb to the Top
Author(s) Nicole Adrian, Mark Edmund, and Brett Krzykowski
Source Quality Progress
Topic Quality Leaders in Healthcare

Qualities of Customer-Focused Organizations


Abstract Seven organizations were recognized in 2010 with the Commerce Department’s Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital was the only 2010 healthcare awardee thanks to its focus on performance improvement, process, and patient satisfaction. Specialty construction company Freese and Nichols won a Baldrige small business award by leveraging client feedback into operational improvements. Another small business award went to K&N Management, a restaurant firm that provided consumers with as much information as possible about their business while making process improvements in the kitchen that increased food quality and overall customer satisfaction. Medical device manufacturer MEDRAD became the fifth company to win two Baldrige awards, the second coming after it demonstrated its commitment to using employee ideas to drive continued improvement and innovation. Montgomery County Schools, only the sixth recipient of the Baldrige award for education in the 12 years it has been available, developed a strategic plan in 1999 that has driven its high performance and continued improvement. The other manufacturing award was given to Nestle Purina Petcare Co., which demonstrated improvement of its strategic planning process as well as continued reduction in cycle times. The final small business award recipient was Studer group, which works with healthcare organizations to improve their quality. Studer group showed that not only did it provide useful tools and processes for other organizations, it also used them to improve its own operations.
Access Restrictions ASQ members and journal subscribers
Link for .PDF
Link for HTML
Reference Code 1-437

Add a Comment